Someday Soon

Grantham, someday soon you won’t be in my belly. Now I want you to know I love all of your kicks and twists, but there are some things I’m looking forward to being able to do after you’re born. In no particular order, they are:

Bending over.

Putting on shoes other than slip ons.

Shaving my legs.

Clipping my own toenails.

Being able to even see my feet (or my legs, did I remember to put pants on?).

Wearing more than just my few maternity shirts and leggings.

Fitting into a coat.

Laughing doing anything without being a little afraid I might pee.

Eating sushi.

Sleeping on my tummy.

Running.

Walking anywhere without getting tired.

Rolling over in bed without having to adjust all 800 of my pillows.

Sleeping with just one pillow (Dad is most excited about this one probably).

As much as I’m looking forward to being able to do these things, I’m even more excited to do a few others. Also in no particular order:

See your sweet little face.

Watch Chase become a Dad.

Introduce you to your family, they’re all becoming grandparents, aunts, and uncles for the first time.

Hold you for the first, second, tenth, and billionth time.

Put you in all these cute teensy weeny outfits we have folded in your drawers.

Fall asleep with you.

Generally stare at you for much longer than necessary.

Cherish all of the little moments.

Leave a Reply

