Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have I told you about my not so secret love affair with chocolate chip cookies? It may be verging on ridiculous. However, once I found this recipe for “The Perfect Chocolate Chip Cookies” I could not stop making them.

For Christmas I gifted Chase and I a Breville Smart Oven that fits into a nook right on our countertop. There are so many times when I just need to reheat or toast something and it feels silly to spend time heating the whole oven. Therefore, smart oven! It has been wonderful. Mostly because of cookies.

I have figured out that now, instead of making and baking all of my cookies at once, I can pre-portion my dough, refrigerate it, and have cookies any time I want. I don’t know how I never realized this was possible. I literally have homemade cookie dough in my refrigerator at all times.

ZeNFI3EFDkfvGXZSlhlfFHUnu-YAcHrUT3WIj_6SIiE

(A better picture will be coming soon, I promise)

We had a good friend over last night that required the last of my dough, so I will be making a double batch tonight in preparation for convincing the nurses at the hospital to be my friends. I think you should make some too.

Chocolate Chip Cookies

Adapted slightly from the William Sonoma Blog

1 1/4 cups  all-purpose flour

1 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. salt

1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, at room temperature

1/2 cup firmly packed light brown sugar

1/3 cup granulated sugar

1 large egg

1 tsp. vanilla extract

2 cups semisweet chocolate chips

Preheat the oven to 350°F and prepare two cookie sheets.

In a medium sized bowl, whisk together the flour, baking soda and salt. Using a stand (or electric) mixer on medium speed, beat the butter, brown sugar and granulated sugar until smooth and incorporated. Add the egg and vanilla and mix on low speed until blended. Add the flour mixture and mix just until incorporated. Stir in the chocolate chips by using the mixer briefly or with a spatula.

Using a cookie scoop or heaping tablespoon, place the dough onto the prepared baking sheets, spacing the dough mounds roughly 2 inches apart.

Bake the cookies, 1 sheet at a time, until the bottoms and edges are lightly browned and the tops feel firm when lightly touched, 10-13 minutes. Let the cookies cool on the baking sheets for 5 minutes, then transfer the cookies to wire racks to cool completely.

Or eat them warm out of the oven. These are to be enjoyed with a very tall glass of milk.

Leave a Reply

