It’s Been A While

And WOW is that an understatement.

I’m going to take a quick moment to be very honest and say that motherhood is one of the most challenging things I have ever done. There has been nothing else in life that has required me to be so selfless and unfalteringly loving as taking care of my sweet (depending on the day) baby.

If I had not had previous experience with infants I don’t know that I could have handed our son. To say he has been a challenge is on some days an understatement. Just yesterday I ran into my neighbors who told me they could hear him sometimes…and I know they didn’t mean laughing. Rhett and I have had our fair share of ups and downs of the last 3 1/2 months and we are barely getting on a good schedule over the last week or two. We’ve gone through fussiness, extreme tummy troubles, acid reflux, and unending sleepless nights. I’ve also laughed at his goofy smiles, his hilarious shrieks, his fascination with himself in the mirror, and his undying love for our kitchen ceiling fan.

To all you single mothers out there, God bless you. I do not, for the life of me, know how you manage it. Being a single parent for eight weeks so far has been so challenging and I could not imagine having to do it every day forever. I look forward to the day my husband comes home from deployment, not only to help me with the daily chores that come with having a new family, but to share with someone the experience of watching our son grow and change right before our eyes every single day. It amazes me to see how Rhett has grown over these last couple months and one of the hardest parts is not having someone here to share each small moment with. Today Rhett rolled over for the first time and I was dying to tell Chase right away, but being half a world away comes with the cost of some real time change issues. These small milestones demand to be celebrated and shared with our loved ones and I can’t imagine having to keep them to myself.

Now that Rhett is finally starting to figure life out I am promising myself to be more present in life and here, in this small space that I cherish. Life is moving quickly and I am learning more about myself than I knew I could so I would like to share that here and explore the adventure life really is turning out to be.

Thank you to my friends and family who have been so supportive recently, always ready to listen or comfort me with a kind word or two. I truly do appreciate you and all you have helped me to overcome.ykY1X8cKo2ZWHDqsLnPjWwnruiocfv1YE71AGjbcw-4

Leave a Reply

