Friday Favorites

Has this week gone by SO SLOWLY for anyone else? I’m so glad it’s finally Friday.

Even better, today Rhett turns nine months old. WHAT. I don’t even know. More on that in a new Little Nuggets post.

all-the-light-we-cannot-see-9781476746586_hr

I’ve slowed down quite a bit on the book front but I recently read All The Light We Cannot See and absolutely loved it. When I started it I called my husband to tell him he would love the style of writing and it sounded quite similar to how he writes. Now that I finally have it back from my Mom I’m hoping he can read it too.

The story is told from two perspectives, that of a blind French girl and a German boy, on the time surrounding WWII. Personally, I have a strange fascination with WWII and love to read books and watch documentaries on the time period. This book gives a unique perspective and is beautifully written. If you’re looking for a new enthralling novel to read, this is the one.

unnamed

Since Rhett turns nine months today I think it’s a good time to share one of my all time favorite apps/websites- Tinybeans. Tinybeans is both an app and a website that allows you to upload pictures, videos, and quotes in a calendar format that is shared with friends and family that you choose. I know there are a lot of these kinds of apps out there today, so what makes this one special? I love Tinybeans because it motivates me to take a daily picture or video, otherwise there’s a gap in my calendar…and I’m really not a fan of gaps. Keeping it in this calendar format allows me to choose a day and scroll forward or backward and literally watch Rhett grow day by day. A lot of Chase’s family and my family live out of state so we feel like this app is a great way to keep everyone connected and up to date on what Rhett is doing and even what he looks like. Every friend I’ve recommended Tinybeans to has absolutely loved it and this is a great time to try it out because if you use my special link you and I both get a free month of Tinybeans Premium, which allows you to add multiple pictures at once and longer videos. Cool, huh?!

Screen Shot 2015-10-15 at 8.55.36 PM

Above I’ve posted an image of Rhett’s September Tinybeans calendar to show you what the online version looks like. Signing up is free so get on it and tell all your friends!

the-skimm

Today’s final favorite is The Skimm. A lot of you probably get this already but I thought this was worth mentioning. The Skimm is a daily email sent to your inbox containing the “skimmed” news for you. It’s great if you’re terrible at reading the news yourself (like me) because it keeps you a little bit up to date on what’s going on in the world without having to spend an hour looking it up yourself. More details from their website:

tumblr_m815xvKAo21qzugtto1_r1_1280

One word of caution- I told my mother-in-law about The Skimm last year and she signed up for it. A couple weeks later when I asked if she liked it she told me she had unsubscribed from the emails. When I asked her why she said it was because she felt like the emails were a little too “valley girl” for her. As much as I like The Skimm, I do have to agree with her. If you’re not a fan of sarcasm or puns, do not sign up. Sometimes I do get annoyed at these emails but overall I appreciate them because they keep me far more up to date than I would be otherwise. It’s totally free to please feel free to use my link and sign up today!

That’s all for today friends! I hope by the end of this post you will have a new book to read, a way to keep up with your favorite babies/kids, and (some) knowledge of current events.

Enjoy your weekend! I’m off to explore a new job opportunity. Details soon!

One thought on “Friday Favorites

Leave a Reply

